Swimming & Diving (Girls V) West Lafayette Jr-Sr High School

Red Devils Shine at Sectional Prelims

By Jordan Bonfitto | Feb 1, 2024 9:00 PM

The Red Devil swimmers were on the road for the 1st phase of the 2024 IHSAA Girls Swimming State Tournament Series -- Sectional Prelims! The Red Devils were entered in 3 relays and had 24 individual event swims, with 100% of races earning Top 16 honors, therefore earning a place in the Sectional Finals session on Saturday. In the individual races, Red Devil athletes posted season-best times in 22 out of 24 swims! The Red Devil Relays will all be seeded in the championship final heat (top 8), with the 200 Medley Relay placing 3rd, the 200 Freestyle Relay placing 4th and the 400 Freestyle Relay placing 3rd in the preliminary heats. Athletes competing in Saturday's finals include: 200 Freestyle -- Championship Final: Laurie Antalis (SR Captain), Madeline Umulis (JR), Lina Idrissi Alami (SR Captain) 200 Individual Medley -- Consolation Final: Natalie Cuttell (FR), Tara Kim (FR), Sophia Vlachos (JR) 50 Freestyle -- Consolation Final: Estelle Seymour (FR), Thenia Vlachos (JR), Juanita Rodriguez-Bravo (FR) 100 Butterfly -- Championship Final: Antalis, Mei Kihara (SO); Consolation Final: Alexandra Ying (JR) 100 Freestyle -- Championship Final: Chloe Chen (JR), Isabel Owens (JR); Consolation Final: Seymour 500 Freestyle -- Championship Final: Cuttell, Idrissi Alami; Consolation Final: Kim 100 Backstroke -- Championship Final: Umulis, Owens; Consolation Final: Rodriguez-Bravo 100 Breaststroke -- Championship Final: Kihara, Chen; Consolation Final: T. Vlachos The Red Devil Divers will begin their Sectional competition with the diving preliminary rounds on Saturday morning. Sophomore Kynlee Dunbar and freshman Ace Tyrrell will be representing West Lafayette. Special thanks to our event alternates and team manager, without whom our sectional roster would not be complete. Event alternates and team support are vital members of our team who prepare for their events and are ready to step in at a moment's notice if need be. Our sectional alternates were Bella Dodt (JR), Kersten Steffey (JR) and Madigan Boesch (JR); our team manager is Hazel Davis (SO).